Malabar Rebellion or Moplah Riots of 1921 | UPSC

Malabar Rebellion or Moplah Riots of 1921 | UPSC | Why in the news?

  • The 1921 Malabar Rebellion or Moplah Riots turns 100 next year.
  • In other words, the year 2021 will mark the 100th year anniversary of the Malabar/Moplah uprising of 1921.

About Malabar Rebellion : 

  • Malabar Rebellion of 1921 was the culmination of a series of riots by Moplahs (Muslims of Malabar) in the 19th and early 20th centuries against the British and the Hindu landlords in Malabar (Northern Kerala).
  • The British had appointed high caste Hindus in positions of authority to get their support, this led to the protest turning against the Hindus.
  • The resistance which started against the British colonial rule and the feudal system later ended in communal violence between Hindus and Muslims.
  • The Moplah Rebellion or the Malabar Rebellion was an extended version of the Khilafat Movement in Kerala in 1921.

The main leaders of this rebellion were:

The main leaders of the rebellion were

  • Ali Musliyar
  • Variankunnath Kunjahammad Haji
  • Sithi Koya Thangal
  • M. P. Narayana Menon
  • Chembrasery Thangal
  • K. Moideenkutti Haji
  • Kappad Krishnan Nair
  • Konnara Thangal
  • Pandiyatt Narayanan Nambeesan
  • Mozhikunnath Brahmadathan Nambudiripad


    • In 1921 the Muslim peasants of the Malabar districts of Kerala known as the Moplahs rose against their landlords, the Namboodris and Nairs.

These upper classes exploited the peasants. 

  • The Moplahs had no security of their tenure.
  • The renewal of fees, high rents and other extractions by the zamindars, broke the backbone of the Moplahs
  • They became united and made armed attacks on the Namboodiris, Nair’s and other higher castes. 
  • The British Government became active and suppressed them.

Questions Based Moplah Rebellion : 

Q 1 – The Moplah Rebellion in 1921 in Malabar was Muslim Peasants Rabellion against :

  1. Muslim Land Holders
  2. The British Government Authority
  3. The non-tribal outsiders
  4. Hindu Land Holders

Q 2 : The Moplah Rebellion of 1921 took place in

  1. Telangana
  2. Malabar
  3. Marathwada
  4. Vidarbha


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top