Exercise Talisman Sabre | UPSC

Exercise Talisman Sabre | UPSC | Why In The News ?

Part : GS Prelims and GS – II – International Relations

Australia is keen that India join its biggest war games ‘Exercise Talisman Sabre’ in 2023.

Meanwhile, the Quad group of countries comprising India, Australia, Japan and the U.S. are set to hold the annual Malabar naval exercise 2021 off the coast of Guam.
Australia was included in the Malabar 2020.

These maritime initiatives enhance synergy and coordination between the Indian Navy and friendly countries, based on common maritime interests and commitment towards Freedom of Navigation at sea.

What is Quad?

  • The Quadrilateral security dialogue or Quad was first mooted by the Japanese Prime Minister in 2007.
  • However, the idea couldn’t move ahead with Australia pulling out of it, apparently due to Chinese pressure.
  • In November 2017, India, the US, Australia and Japan gave shape to the long-pending “Quad” Coalition to develop a new strategy to keep the critical sea routes in the Indo-Pacific free of any influence (especially China).
  • Australia is worried about China’s growing interest in its land, infrastructure and politics and influence on its universities.
  • In the last decade, Japan believes that China has tried to bully it on several territorial issues.
  • China has border disputes with India.
  • China is also blocking India’s path into the Nuclear Suppliers Group.
  • A weakened US sees the coalition as an opportunity to regain its influence in the Indo-Pacific region.
  • India has been hesitant about the Quad, in part because it does not want to isolate China and because it has had a history of staying clear of security alliances.

Read Also : Exercise Cutlass Express | UPSC

Exercise Talisman Sabre

  • It is a biennial, multinational military exercise led by Australia and the United States.
  • Talisman Sabre 2021, was the largest bilateral combined training activity between the Australian Defence Force (ADF) and the U.S. military.
  • The other countries include Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea and U.K.

Source : The Hindu 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top